A letter to Earth

Dear Earth,

I know I have been a bit of a slow starter when it comes to understanding these things. It took me just about thirty years to grasp fully how truly magical the notion of life is, and how marvelous it is that it works in my favor almost every day.

So I want to thank you, Earth, for providing me with all of the ecosystems a human could possibly ever need to be able to thrive and live in abundance on this forest garden planet. It is truly an honor that I get to take part in this particular journey every day for my whole life.

Now that I do get it, I feel so very ready to honor it by living life to its fullest. To appreciate my body and practice self love, maybe to help others appreciate their experiences on Earth, and maybe to help explain in all ways that I can why this insight is so important, and why it is so important for all of us to honor life itself more.

We have gone a bit too far in our way of overusing natural resources. And we have done so to such extent that we don’t even seem to care what is left behind anymore. It is so sad to see that what we lose isn’t only biodiversity, good air quality, healthy food, chances for finding new medications and resilient global water systems. It seems we are leaving our own humanity behind, and with it our grasp of that what is unique is also what is important. We are losing our self respect, self love and love for our own mother. We ARE Earth, goddamnit..

So, I hereby declare to live life fully and to practice being my own unique self every day. To really honor the fact that I exist here on Earth in this lifetime out of all lifetimes in all of eternity. I am so very ready to appreciate that I live in abundance and to share the abundance. There is enough for everybody, without over usage of anything.

Thank you, Earth, for still providing me with fresh breathable air. For breathing is what’s moving us forward and what’s keeping us alive. Just imagine what would happen if we couldn’t breath anymore. That might be where we are going if we don’t change things from here.

This feeling of breathing through life inspires me to think: how can I use the knowing that breath moves us forward? Maybe I can take the fact into my life as a principle for living and a reminder to live fully. Where do I need to go next to take another revitalizing breath in life?

And where do we as a civilization need to go to take OUR next revitalizing breath, as a way for us to find ways to feel alive, without doing any harm?

Always a part of you,

Sincerely
Tove

 

Leave a comment